Trying to get there

Published August 14, 2014 by emmaperez1961

I made yet another attempt to make another sponge cake. I had made one recently and it came out really tough. So I’m still trying to figure out what I’m doing wrong. Too much flour, not enough eggs. What is it!!!!  Uggghhh!!!!

With this one I mixed 1/2c butter and 1/2c margarine. Then added sugar eggs and so on. I also added 1/4c of vegetable oil, Which I think was a mistake. But gave it a go anyway. I also omitted the egg whites and just added the egg yolks for color of cake (yellow). Put in the oven at 325′ for 35 min.

And I came out with this. Still not to happy but the texture was softer than the last. And it smelled a lot like corn bread. I just hope it didn’t taste like it. I’m not a fan of corn bread 😦 . And yes, as you can see. It was still tough. but not as tough as the last.

The other disappointment was that it broke very easily. And it was very crumbly. Other than that, it tasted good! But still not where I want to be at,  where sponge cake is concerned. It wasn’t light and fluffy at all. And that is what I’m looking for in a yellow cake. Especially if your making cupcakes! Right?

So, I’ll be back at the drawing board in a couple of days. I’ve read of two different methods.  ‘The two stage method’ and ‘Foaming or sponge method’. Going to give both a try and see who comes out the winner. Until then, Keep baking. and if you have any tips, I could sure use them.DSC08075

 

 

Leave a comment